John'z Place

1st name is John; last name begins with Z; therefore it's John'z Place

Un-installing IE 8 Beta 2 from Your PC!


Uninstalling IE 8 Beta 2

Uninstalling IE 8 Beta 2

I’ve recently downloaded IE 8 Beta 2 to my Vista Unlimited only to find out why I stopped downloading Beta programs all together about two years ago.

THEY DON’T WORK!

In fact they are worse than that, they take a mostly completely satisfying and mostly perfectly working computer and $%^@ it up.

I posted “Installing Legitimate Programs?, How to get Vista to allow?” on Bleepingcomputer.com looking for advice on how to get the “New Internet Explorer 7 Optimized for Yahoo!” to install properly on my PC.

I also have an issue with a Logitech Webcam update not installing properly along with other similar installation issues.

Anyhow, the recommended response to my Bleepingcomputer.com posting was to check out the IE page at Microsoft. Of course Microsoft has plastered right up at the top of the page:

“Try the IE 8 Beta 2” – download

Now you know what they say about history don’t you; that it tends to repeat itself given enough time.  What a fate to repeat the same mistakes over and over again.

Ahhh!!!

There should be a law against it.  I guess it’s just the nature of time, it’s so cruel!

Anyhow, don’t expect any add-on Toolbar to work on IE 8 Beta 2 like Yahoo! or Google’s.  They just simple won’t open.  In fact, don’t expect any Active X’s to work.  You’ll find that IE 8 Beta 2 just sits there looking pretty not doing much of anything else what so ever.  It’s the most ridiculously frustrating thing that I’ve done on my PC in a long time.  I can’t think of a better way to scare customers away and to change public opinion against you then to make Beta programs available to the general public that don’t work – like they ever really do!

It makes one wonder what companies like Microsoft are thinking!?

So, the recommendation here as with any Beta program is to stay as far away from them as you can.  Find a cave in the hills to crawl into before downloading and installing a Beta program of any kind!

The frustration and time lost in dealing with them just isn’t worth it. In fact it makes me want to watch a violent adventure movie and let my imagination run a muck!

Anyhow and now that I’ve cleared the air, click Microsoft page telling you how to uninstall IE 8 from your computer for those other souls out there that may have made the same mistake that I have and forgot the lesson of time.

Just scroll down to: “How to uninstall Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2”.

I’m so nice that I’m also including a copy of those Instructions here:

How to uninstall Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2

To uninstall Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2 in Windows Vista, follow these steps:

1. Click Start Start button, type Programs and Features in the Start Search box, and then click Programs and Features in the Programs list.  User Account Control permission If prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password, or click Allow.
2. In the Tasks pane, click View installed updates.
3. Click Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2, and then click Uninstall.

If Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2 does not appear in theCurrently Installed Updates list, run the following command at an elevated command prompt:

FORFILES /P %WINDIR%\servicing\Packages/M Microsoft-Windows-InternetExplorer-8*.mum /c “cmd /c echo Uninstalling package @fname && start /w pkgmgr /up:@fname /norestart”


These instructions work, Thank God!

John

~ Comments always welcome:

One response to “Un-installing IE 8 Beta 2 from Your PC!

  1. WebMarty September 1, 2008 at 6:21 am

    Frankly, I’ve become a “Microsoftphobe” in the last year, particularly since I discovered Linux and all the open source software that goes with it. In fact even before that I’d moved away from IE, preferring to use the more slimline and faster Firefox. Of course there are one or two rare widgets that don’t work with firefox, but thats a minor distraction. I just keep XP and IE on my PC for those rare occasions when I have no other option but to use them.
    I think its good advice to avoid beta’s unless you really know what you are doing. I hope things have sorted themselves out now.

Leave a Reply

